This guide describes the new Delivery Engagement Management enhancements included in Kimble Release 1.25. We have also attached a .pdf version for your convenience.
In Kimble Release 1.25, the existing Stage Management functionality has been enhanced at both Engagement and Element level. At Engagement level, there is additional visibility and flexibility, while at Element level an Activity can now be Closed, temporarily or permanently preventing Resources from booking Time or Expenses against it.
At Engagement level, the enhanced Stage Management functionality, allows for:
- the flexibility to move back to a previous Stage if needed
- higher visibility into what the next Stage will be
- the ability to define an Engagement as Closed for report filtering purposes.
Through Stage Management, you can move an Engagement through Stages (Live, Closed, as well as other Stages that may be configured in your Kimble application).
- Different Stages are configured to restrict the availability of menu items within the Delivery Engagement– ensuring that only relevant options are available.
- Delivery Engagement Reports can be filtered to include or exclude Engagements at specific Stages, and can include a field: Engagement Stage Is Closed allowing any required differentiation.
Your current Stage Management settings were likely set during your organization’s implementation. If you wish to make any changes to your Stage Management configuration please contact Kimble.
In addition, in 1.25, we have tied an existing Resourced Activity Closedown process to the Activate switch that appears on the bottom left of a Resourced Element on the Engagement Scope screen.
Closing a Resourced Activity prevents resources from booking any more time to that activity.
From the Delivery Engagement Dashboard, stages can be managed via Governance > Close Stage.
The Close Stage screen details the Engagement’s Current Stage, as well as the proposed Next Stage. Clicking Close will move the Engagement to the Next Stage.
Where there is an earlier Stage available, you will see an option to Revert – moving the Engagement back to the previous Stage (from Closed to Live, for example).
Where the Next Stage is “Closed” a warning will show, reminding Project Managers to “review Assignments, Milestones, Invoiceable items etc to ensure that the Engagement is ready to be Closed”.
- No checks are performed by Kimble on closing an Engagement – it is possible to close an Engagement with uninvoiced items, remaining effort, Time and Expense entries in Draft, or pending Approval. This reminder is an important prompt for Project Managers, to ensure that any unactualised forecast is removed, WIP is invoiced to the client, and the Delivery Engagement is in a good position to be closed.
Before 1.25, “Closed” Stages were closed in name only, but now “Engagement Stage is Closed” is a value of Engagement Probability Code, allowing for easy report filtering of Engagements that are/are not “Closed”.
For Resources to book time and expenses against a Resourced Activity on a Delivery Engagement, that Activity needs to be Active. Activities are activated on the Scope page, using the toggle switch at the bottom left of an Element.
In the past, this switch has been used to move Elements from Draft to Active. If Time and Expense items have not been entered against the Activity it is possible to revert to Draft using the same switch.
In 1.25, this same toggle switch can be used after Time or Expense items have been booked against the Resourced Activity. In this case, instead of moving the Activity from Active to Draft, you are Closing it. While setting an Engagement to Closed Stage does not change anything about the Engagement outside of the Engagement Menu, closing a Resourced Activity does have a significant effect: it stops Resources from entering Time and Expenses against that Activity.
Clicking Close Activity from the toggle switch will open the Close Resourced Activity page. What you see on that page will depend on whether there is forecast effort remaining on the Activity.
- If the Activity has remaining forecast effort, it cannot be closed. Details of remaining forecast effort are displayed, prompting the Project Manager on the Assignments they should edit to remove remaining effort.
- If there is no remaining forecast effort, you can close the Activity by clicking Close Activity.
Why is closing Resourced Activities important? Activities cannot be closed if there is any remaining forecast usage; closing them surfaces forecast effort that may not in fact take place. It is important to remove unactualised forecast effort at the end of a Delivery Engagement to ensure resource and revenue forecasts are up to date, revenue recognition is accurate, and final invoices can be issued to the client. Closing the Resourced Activity also ensures it is no longer available in the Timesheet for a Resource, once the Delivery Engagement is completed.
Even if you have been able to close an activity – meaning there is no remaining forecast effort that is not in Draft or Pending Approval – there are still impacts to consider once an Activity is closed.
- You can close Activities with time in Draft, and/or with time Pending Approval. However, this time cannot be Approved, as all remaining effort on the activity will have been removed.
- You can close Activities with Expenses in Draft, and/or with Expenses Pending Approval.
- Expenses in Draft before the Activity was Closed cannot be Submitted once the Activity is Closed.
- Expenses Pending Approval before the Activity was Closed can be Approved even after the Activity is Closed.
- You can close an Activity with uninvoiced items. These items are available to be invoiced after closure of the Activity.
- Time Adjustments can be made to a Closed Activity, if:
- The Time Adjustments do not push the effort for the Period higher than what was originally submitted. While it is possible to create and submit additional time, this cannot be Approved, as the remaining forecast effort for the Activity must have been set to zero, in order for the Activity to be Closed.
- You are making a Time Adjustment to a day that had a Time Entry. You cannot use Time Adjustments to create new Time Entries once the Activity is Closed.
Closing an Activity does not need to be a permanent decision. You may need to close an Activity that has been put on hiatus by a client so that no time can be booked; once the hiatus is over, you can use the toggle switch to reactivate the Activity – essentially you are deactivating the Element. To do this, you will need to eliminate remaining forecast usage.