To coincide with the Winter ’20 Salesforce rollout, from January 7, 2020 Salesforce will be enabling Lightning Experience for all organizations on a rolling basis.
When enabled, existing standard and custom profile users with the ‘Lightning Experience User’ permission will see the ‘Switch to Lightning Experience’ link in Salesforce Classic and will be automatically switched into Lightning Experience on a weekly basis.
In addition, shortly after the deployment of Winter ’20, Salesforce will activate a critical update called ‘Turn On Lightning Experience’ which will enable the setting “Lightning Experience User” for all profiles where this has not been previously enabled.
Administrators can see the date for the deployment of the critical update from Setup>Critical Updates
What does this mean?
Every Sunday after Lightning Experience has been turned on, all users who are working in Salesforce Classic and have ‘Lightning Experience User’ enabled will be automatically logged into Lightning Experience. Users can, however, switch back to Salesforce Classic as needed by using the switch option in the user menu.
What do I need to do?
If you are using a custom profile and you do not wish to automatically switch to Lightning Experience, it is possible on a profile by profile basis to uncheck the ‘Lightning Experience User’ permission.
Standard profiles such as ‘Standard Platform User’ cannot be changed once it has been automatically enabled.
If you have any concerns about this change, please raise a ticket with the Kimble Help Desk. Please note that Kimble is fully compliant with both Lightning and Classic modes in Salesforce